Welcome to New Zealand

Web www.toursandtravelsinindia.com

  NEW ZEALAND                                                       Home

Capital: Wellington
Large Cities: Auckland, Christchurch, Hamilton
Languages: English and Maori dialect
Religion: Christianity
Currency: New Zealand Dollar

Location: New Zealand, lying in the South Pacific Ocean with Tasman Sea on the west, consists of two large islands, North Island and South Island and numerous small islands. British sovereignty was proclaimed in 1840, with organized settlement beginning in the same year. The colony became a dominion in 1907.

Government: The native Maoris, who reached New Zealand before and during the 14th century, number about 550,000. Six members of Parliament are elected directly by them.

New Zealand plans to do away with the right of apeeal to the Privy Council in London - a milestone in the country's exercise to ultimately become a Republic. The Labour Party won the general election in 1999.

Chief Crops: The major crops are wheat, maize, oats and barley.

Minerals: Minerals include coal, oil and gold.

Industry: Primary industries are dairying, meat and wool. Pulp and paper industry is highly developed. Iron, steel, aluminium, textiles, transport equipment are other industries.

Mission in India:
High Commission for New Zealand
Sir Edmund Hillary Marg
Chanakyapuri, New Delhi - 110 021, India
Tel: 91 - 11 - 26883170
Fax: 91 - 11 - 26883165
Email: nzhc@ndf.vsnl.net.in

Indian Mission in New Zealand:
High Commission of India
180, Molesworth Street, P.O. Box 4045
Wellington, New Zealand
Tel: 00 - 64 - 4 - 4736390
Fax: 00 - 64 - 4 - 4990665
Email: hicomind@clear.net.nz

Overseas Territories of NZ:

The Cook islands and Niue are self-governing territories overseas and Ross Dependency and Tokelau are territories overseas coming within New Zealand's jurisdiction.

The Cook Islands (241 sq.km) were placed under New Zealand administration in 1901 and they achieved self-governing status in association with New Zealand in 1965.

Niue (259 sq.km) formerly administered as part of Cook Islands, achieved self-governing status in association with New Zealand in 1965.

The Ross Dependency (414, 400 sq,km) an Antarctic region, was placed under New Zealand administration in 1923.

Tokelau (10 sq. km) was placed under New Zealand administration in 1925.

View More Countries>>

Useful Links,with tourism flavour

Suggest the websites related to the Tourism In New Zealand to list in our directory. Only the tourism flavoured websites will be accepted.