Welcome to The Netherlands

Web www.toursandtravelsinindia.com

  THE NETHERLANDS - Kingdom of The Netherlands                                                       Home

Capital: Amsterdam (Seat of Govt: The Hague)
Large Cities: Rotterdam, Utrecht
Languages: Dutch
Religion: Christianity
Currency: Euro

Location: The Kingdom of the Netherlands in North West Europe, on North Sea comprises the Netherlands and Antilles. The country is plainland with an average height of 11m above the sea-level. Much of the land, however, is below sea-level and is protected by dykes, which extend to some 2400 km.

Agriculture: The Netherlands is a small, densely populated and highly developed country. Agriculture has been mechanized and developed. Crops: Grains, potatoes, sugar beets, fruits, flowers.

Industry: Foodstuffs form the largest industrial sector. Dairy products account for one-quarter of exports. Other major industries include chemicals, metallurgy, machinery, electrical goods and tourism. Netherlands is one of the world's 10 leading exporting countries. Service sector contributes 71% of GDP, industry 26% and agriculture and fisheries 3%. Amsterdam is famous as a world centre for diamonds, precious metals and art treasures. Rotterdam, along the Rhine, handles the most cargo of any ocean port in the world. The Netherlands attracts 5 million tourists every year.

Mission in India:
Royal Netherlands Embassy
6/50 F, Shantipath, Chanakyapuri
New Delhi - 110 021, India
Tel: 91 - 11 - 2688 4951-54
Fax: 91 - 11 - 24103091 (Consular/ Visa)
Email: nde@minbuza.nl
Website: www.holland-india.org

Indian Mission in Netherlands:
Embassy of India
Buitenrustweg - 2, 2517 KD
The Hague, Netherlands
Tel: 00 - 31 - 70 - 3469771
Fax: 00 - 31 - 70 - 3617072
Email: ssembind2@bart.nl

Dutch Territories:

1. Aruba: (Capital: Oranjestad) The Island which lies in the southern Caribbean, formed part of the Dutch West Indies from 1828 and part of the Netherlands Antilles from 1845. Achieved internal self-government in 1954. Aruba was constitutionally separated from the Netherlands Antilles from January 1, 1986, and full independence was promised after a 10-year period. But an agreement of 1990 deleted references to eventual independence.

2. The Netherlands Antilles:(Capital: Willemstad) It comprises two groups of islands in the West Indies, the Leeward group (Curacao and Bonaire) and the Windward Islands. In 1954, they became an integral part of the Netherlands but are fully autonomous in internal affairs.

View More Countries>>

Useful Links,with tourism flavour

Suggest the websites related to the Tourism In The Netherlands to list in our directory. Only the tourism flavoured websites will be accepted.